Monday, January 18, 2010

Vikings: Wrong or Right????

Today's blog is about the way the Minnesota Vikings handled the end of the playoff game against the Dallas Cowboys.

I would like to take a second and announce I am Vikings fan. I just thought it would make good sense to make sure the readers knew this before reading the blog today.

There seems to be a lot of controversy concerning the way the playoff game this week ended. I have heard many people argue both sides of the argument. There is the side that says it was inappropriate the way the Vikings handle the end of the game and that it was poor sportsmanship. While I have also heard people say, they are professionals and it is the Cowboys job to stop them no matter what the score and time left in the game is. There are many different opinions and reasons for those opinions that I have heard.

I will now give you my take on the situation and after reading this I welcome yours. To me, the bottom line, this was a classless, poor sportsmanship like display portrayed by a bonehead of a coach(Brad Childress). I think Brad's explanation after the game made it worse. Growing up, I was always taught, win or lose, the most important thing is good sportsmanship. Well let me tell you something, there was none of that on display Sunday. The Vikings could of done many things instead of pass for a TD. They could have kicked a field goal or just ran 4 running plays and just handed the ball back to the Cowboys with less then 2 minutes left to go in the game deep in their own end. Either way there was no way the Cowboys had a chance. Those would have been the options the Vikings could have chose to display good sportsmanship. Of course they did not do this. There was just really no good valid reason for acting like they did.

The excuse they are professionals seems like the most ridiculous excuse of all the ones I have heard. So because you are a professional you no longer respect your opponent? I think this really sends a mixed message to kids. OK, Johnny once you become a professional it is OK to embarrass, disrespect, and play without sportsmanship. But until then you should act differently. Come on, really? Nice message to send to the kids, Brad. To me being a professional means you are even more respectful and raise the level of sportsmanship to the highest of levels if anything.

To be honest the only good thing Brad Childress has done as coach of the Minnesota Vikings is negotiate Farve signing on. On top of that I really do not think other then it finally getting done that Childress even handled that in a good way.

So bottom line my final opinion on this is: The Vikings acted in the wrong manner. That being sad. GO VIKINGS!

My prediction for this blog is going to be who will be the next head coach at East Carolina. My guess is going to be someone most of you probably have never heard of. That answer is Rod Broadway, current head coach of Grambling. Later this week in a blog I will be giving my prediction of the to NFL Championship games.

No comments:

Post a Comment